Sundance, Wyoming

Museum and Art Gallery

Museum Info:


HOURS: June - Aug.
Mon. - Fri. 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Off Season
Mon. - Fri. 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Half an hour -2 hours.


Upcoming Events:

Be sure to watch our calendar for upcoming Gallery events and classes.


Gallery Events:

Gallery phone # 307-283-3301

Be sure to check out our calendar to view upcoming events at the 1875 Gallery.

Gallery Hours:

Mon - Fri
8:00 A.M. until 5:00 P.M.

10:00 A.M. until 6:00 P.M.  

Closed Sundays

Please call first as our gallery is staffed by volunteers!




The Crook County Museum & Art Gallery is located in historic downtown Sundance.

Western Enthusiasts will step back in time and experience an inspiring portrait of the true west. Open the doors of the past and step into the wide spectrum of our counties rich heritage. Have a seat in a spectator chair of the "Sundance Kid" trial. Gun enthusiasts will savor the impressive gun collection. Venture into the gallery and view an exciting mix of exhibitions. Lure your thoughts into a provoking book in the bookstore.

Four fabulous diaramas featuring:
- Devils Tower
- Custer Expedition
- Vore Buffalo Jump
- The 1st Experimental Nuclear Power Plant

See you at the museum, pardner. View some of our exhibits.

Sundance, WY 1902


Located at 309 Cleveland, the 1875 Art Gallery focuses on local art, pottery and custom jewelry. A few of the local artists includes Allison L Bush Forsberg (custom jewelry), John Werbelow (decorative & functional pottery), Rose Miller Designs (custom jewelry), Susan Scheirbeck (art) and Sonja Taylor (watercolors and more!). Programs and activities are held often - be sure to view the Calendar of Events to find out what is happening.


In 1938, a man by the name of Dave Hilton began a museum in the basement of the old library. It continued until 1959, when it was closed to make classroom space available for the school; Old Stoney. Not long after the new courthouse was opened in 1968, the Crook County Historical Society began trying to set up a museum with the old courthouse fixtures they had acquired. In January 1971, the county commissioners set aside a room in the courthouse basement for this purpose. The first Museum Board meeting was on January 18, 1971. The Crook County Museum opened to the public on April 25, 1971. Find out more about the Museum Foundation.